Saturday, September 20, 2014

Video - Highlights of the First Formula E Fully Electric Racing Championships in Beijing

Here are the highlights of the first fully electric Formula E Championship in Beijing. The race was won by Audi Sport ABT driver Lucas di Grassi who also drove an Audi R18 e-tron quattro diesel-electric hybrid at the 2014 24 Hours of Le Mans.The race included a spectacular crash.

The 270 horsepower cars are limited to 140 mph to preserve their battery packs. Cars can race for 20 to 30 minutes on a single charge. The implementation of efficiency-focused rules meant that hree drivers were given time penalties for using more than the allotted 28-kilowatt-hours to finish the race. Each of the 10 teams in Formula E fields two drivers, each of which gets two cars, leaving one to switch to when the starting car runs out of electricity.

The next round of the Formula E Championship is the Putrajaya ePrix in Malaysia on November 22. There will also be two races in the U.S.--in Miami on March 14, 2015, and Long Beach on April 4--before the season finale in London next June.

No comments: