Sunday, February 24, 2019

Event - American Climate Leadership Summit 2019 (ACLS19)

The 8th Annual American Climate Leadership Summit (ACLS19), will take place on May 1-2, 2019 in Washington, D.C. The event is subtitled Breakthrough: Solutions and Leadership. Consistent with the Breakthrough theme this event will explore strategies and ideas to help transform climate action into a true national priority.

ACLS is the nation’s largest and most diverse gathering of leaders dedicated to broadening and catalyzing action and advocacy for effective climate solutions to redirect America toward climate action.  As the organizers explain on their website, if there was ever a time to bring leadership together to share learning, build collaboration, and publicly support climate solutions, this is that time. Now more than ever we need climate mitigation and advocacy, so that we can boldly move the needle on solutions.
Who attends

ACLS19 will be attended by five hundred leaders and innovators from across the US, representing a multitude of constituencies, will collaborate on strategies to expand and accelerate leadership to restore our climate.

At this event participants will
  • Learn the latest science and technology on climate and solutions from leading experts.
  • Share and hear success stories from a diversity of organizations and communities. 
  • Learn how to engage and support frontline communities in successful climate advocacy. 
  • Collaborate across sectors and constituencies to develop new partnerships, synergy. 
  • Inspire and empower a rising generation of diverse leaders to elevate climate action and advocacy. Explore and plan for ways to “breakthrough” to achieve rapid, meaningful climate solutions.
  • Heidi Binko Executive Director and Co-founder, Just Transition Fund
  • Andrew Bowman President, Land Trust Alliance Gail Christopher.png Gail C. Christopher, DN Chair of the Board, Trust for America’s Health
  • Rev. Dr. John Dorhauer General Minister and President, United Church of Christ
  • David T. Dyjack, Dr.PH, CIH Executive Director, National Environmental Health Association
  • Jay Faison Founder, ClearPath
  • Jonathan Foley Executive Director, Project Drawdown
  • Vanessa Hauc Correspondent, Noticias Telemundo
  • Lisa Jackson Vice President, Environment, Policy and Social Initiatives, Apple news_wind_Tom Kiernan_npca.jpg Tom Kiernan President and CEO, American Wind Energy Association
  • Ken Kimmell President, Union of Concerned Scientists
  • Bret Kugelmass Managing Director, Energy Impact Center
  • Celinda Lake President, Lake Research Partners
  • Christine McEntee Executive Director and CEO, American Geophysical Union
  • Bob Perkowitz President, ecoAmerica
  • Carter Roberts President and CEO, World Wildlife Fund
  • Dr. Joseph Romm Founding Editor,
  • Meighen Speiser Executive Director, ecoAmerica
  • Ellen R. Stofan, PhD John and Adrienne Mars Director, Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum
  • Benjamin Strauss, MD CEO and Chief Scientist, Climate Central
  • Jalonne White-Newsome Senior Program Officer, Environment, The Kresge FoundationThe Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse Senator (D-RI), U.S. Senate

Click here for the agenda.
Click here to register.

No comments: